Posted in homicide, justice, murder, news

Millard South High School Shooter Dead, Son of Police Officer

Police say Robert Butler Jr., the student who opened fire at Millard South High School in Omaha Wednesday, shot and killed himself after wounding two adults at the school.

His body was found in a car about two miles away.

Butler was a student at Millard High School and the son of an Omaha police officer.

Robert Butler Jr. (AP Photo, file)

He is believed to have used his father gun in the shootings, according to CBS affiliate KMTV.

Butler had only attended the school for two months, having transferred in November from a high school in Lincoln.

No other students were wounded during the shooting.

Shooter Left Disturbing Facebook Post

The status update reads:

"Everybody that used to know me, I’m sorry but Omaha changed me and f**ked me up. And the school I attend is even worse," the message read. "You’re gonna here about the evil s**t I did but that f**king school drove me to this. I want you guys to remember me for who I was before this. I greatly affected the lives of the families ruined but I’m sorry. Goodbye."

CBS Cimesider coverage

Author:

Writing about crime